Creating an Extraordinary Learning Community

Each April, our Faculty Awards Ceremony honors, promotes and celebrates the extraordinary teaching that takes place at MICDS. It’s a time to recognize the outstanding work and tireless dedication of our faculty. Former Head of School Lisa Lyle spoke about how the MICDS campus is impressive, but that it’s our faculty who make MICDS the truly remarkable learning community it is. “In the learning spaces you create,” she said, “students discover their passions, develop skills and knowledge; they learn to think critically, demonstrate compassion for all the world’s people and stand for what is good and right, as our mission calls us to do!”

The School is able to present summer sabbaticals, fellowships, merit awards and Chairs of Distinguished Teaching thanks to the generosity of alumni and friends who value their experiences at Mary Institute, Saint Louis Country Day School and MICDS. Congratulations to the 2019 honorees!

Summer Sabbaticals and Fellowships

Mary Institute Class of 1957 Endowed Fund for Faculty Continuing Education

Summer Beasley

Soledad Villagomez

The Edward M. Rivinus Memorial Summer Sabbatical

Gabe Grabarek

Wilma and Roswell Messing Jr. ’34 Summer Sabbatical

Natalie Griffin

Thomas Family Fellowship

Robin Campbell

Veronica Wachter

Polk Family Summer Sabbatical Fellowship for the Teaching of English

Tex Tourais

Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb Fund for Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics

JK-12 Math Department

(All department members will be working with concept-based math curriculum and instruction expert Jennifer Wathall.)

Faculty Merit Awards

Mary Institute Class of 1940 Distinguished Faculty Award

Kelly Walsh

Country Day School Class of 1958 “Extra Effort” Award

Khannie Dastgah

Denise Douglas

Ashley O’Toole

Brian Purlee

Dorothy Wray Roberts 1917 Faculty Merit Award

Christy Moore ’72

Sears Foundation Faculty Merit Award

Darrett Thompson

Michael S. Gerrard Award

Dustin Delfin

Chairs of Distinguished Teaching

Albert G. Blanke Jr. ’28 Chair of Distinguished Teaching

Kelly Hummel

Country Day School Class of 1959 Walter J. McCreery Chair of Distinguished Teaching in Memory of George P. Braun ’59

Sara Levine

Eugene A. Hecker Chair of Distinguished Teaching in Humanities

Elizabeth Wells

David S. Turken Chair of Distinguished Teaching

Sarah Garner

Donald H. Webb Chair of Distinguished Teaching

Sarah Elliott

Aaron Proctor

Gilbert-Werremeyer Chair of Distinguished Teaching

Janet Purdy

Jason Roberts

Sander H. Coovert Chair of Distinguished Teaching

Zuowei Chang

Suzanne Siegel Harbison ’45 Chair of Distinguished Teaching in Science

Michelle Hrastich

Craig E. Jones Chair of Distinguished Teaching

Celeste Prince

J.R. Johnson Jr. Chair of Distinguished Teaching

Maggie DesPain Dunson ’09